banana chocolate chip muffins

When I chew, it sounds like there’s someone squishing a soapy wet sponge in my left ear, and my right-side jaw feels like I’ve been punched. Therefore, for about 10 days now, I’ve been “eating” a lot of soup and smoothies.

But when the storm came earlier this week, I decided I had to bake something, even though I wouldn’t be able to taste it or comfortably chew it. It just seemed right to run the oven during the wind and the rain. And while I genuinely cannot taste these to let you know whether they’re good or not, I will say that the texture is right, which is what I struggle with when I use this dad gum coconut flour. Also, anyone on the Lurong challenge will have to record a cheat for these, since they have the chocolate, honey, and baking powder in them. Or you can do what I’m doing, which is to eat totally clean about 90% of the time, and let the program record 2 cheats a day for you automatically.

3 ripe bananas
1/3 C coconut oil
6 eggs
2 Tbsp honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 C coconut flour
1/tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 C dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Baking Chips)
1/8 C chopped walnuts

So, you know the drill: wet stuff into the Cuisinart. Then scrape into a bowl with the dry stuff; mix. Fold in chunky stuff.

Pour into muffin cups. (My batch made about 15. I know. What a drag to have to put a twelve-muffin pan back in for three measly muffins.) Bake @ 350 for about 35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

