nut-ola

Or paleo granola. Or “granizzzle,” if you prefer. For shizzle.
I remember when I found out how much fat granola had in it. This was probably the mid 90s, when I was still anti-fat. I lived on root beer (no fat!), bagels (no fat!), pretzels (no fat!), and Twizzlers (ibid!!). For my entire senior year in high school, I ate breakfast cereal with skim milk for nearly all my meals. Corn Flakes, Frosted Mini-Wheats, Rice Krispies. No fat, no problem. I also ate granola. And then one day I actually read the nutrition label on the box of granola and had a heart attack. TWELVE grams of fat??!! That was more fat than I wanted to consume in an entire day (back then!).

When I came to my senses about fat, which has only been recently, I remember one of my first thoughts was, “SaWEEET! I can eat me some fatty fat fat granola, because fat is gooo-oood.” But then on the heels of my fat revelation, I had the grain/carb revelation. And GRANola is, like, GRAINola. Like shit and shinola. Whatever that means. Both mean disappointment.

So, a no-grain granola. It’s really more of a NUTola (not to be confused with Nutella). The iteration I offer here is completely paleo compliant, if you are participating in the Lurong Living Paleo Challenge or other similar eating quest.

Set your oven @ 350 and get out a good chopping knife. You’ll also need some parchment paper.

Combine:
1/3 C coconut oil
1/4 C unsweetened applesauce
1/2 C pureed pumpkin
1/2 tsp vanilla
dash of nutmeg
dash of cinnamon
dash of ground clove

then add:
1/2 C sliced almonds
1/2 C chopped pecans
1/2 C chopped pepitas or pumpkin seeds
1/2 C coconut flakes
1/2 C chopped dates

Mix it all up, throw it on a baking sheet lined with parchment, and bake it for about 30-40 minutes, making sure to turn it. Then you’ll want to leave it out to cool and get a little crispy.

I have yet to eat it cereal-style, with almond or coconut milk. So far, I’m munching on it.

One thought on “nut-ola

Leave a Reply

