late-season peach muffins


Peach season is coming to an end. Or so I was told by the friendly dude at Brown’s in Loganville this weekend. So while the peaches we have been getting from the local orchards were absolutely sweet and delicious (the best peaches in York County are at Susquehanna Orchards in Delta), apparently now the varieties that are coming ripe are less sweet.

I’ve been skipping breakfast lately, save for the mug of coffee, because we’re back to school and it feels like I have less time to be chopping veggies and making omelets. Also, I haven’t been really feeling the eggs lately. I tried a bowl of gluten-free oatmeal for breakfast yesterday, but about halfway into the bowl I felt my gut inflate.

And I have all these peaches sitting on my counter, and the fruit flies are getting extraordinarily fat. Really, it’s inappropriate how fat they all are. I decided I’d try to put some of them into muffins. (The peaches, not the fat fruit flies.) They turned out really well. I prefer the texture of these muffins to the ones I made this summer with raspberries. These muffins have a little more teeth to them and are completely paleo, as they rely on dates for the sweetener.

I’m hoping I have a few left to eat for breakfast tomorrow. It’s not looking good, folks.

Preheat oven to 350. Line your muffin pan with cups.
You’ll need:
½ mashed banana
6 dates

wet:
2 eggs
¼ C coconut oil
¼ tsp vanilla
¼ C applesauce

dry:
1 1/3 C almond flour
1/3 C coconut flakes
½ tsp baking soda
sprinkle of salt
sprinkle of cinnamon

One peeled and daintily diced peach

Put the banana and the dates in your food processor and whirl for a good bit. Then add your wet ingredients and whirl for a bit more. Then add dry ingredients and whirl until combined.

Dump your batter out into a bowl and fold in the diced peach.

Fill muffin cups to near-top, and bake for about 25 minutes, maybe a little longer.

2 thoughts on “late-season peach muffins

  1. Damn…if you still lived next door, I’d probably be eating one of those right about now. 😦

    Also, isn’t coconut oil a lube, and not a baking ingredient? 😉

Leave a Reply

