oh, plateau

Huanchaca Plateau in Noel kempff Mercado National Park in Bolivia. Photo Credit: Ruta Verde.
pla·teau [pla-toh] noun
1. a land area having a relatively level surface considerably raised above adjoining land on at least one side, and often cut by deep canyons.
2. a period or state of little or no growth or decline Anyone else feeling this? *sigh*

Today was a typical two-fer: WOD this morning [3 rep max weighted ring dips, 50 burpees for time, then some deadlifts and an insane amount of push ups] followed by a workout at the track [ 3 X (200M + 400M + 600M)]. I’ve been running these two-a-days for most of the summer, about three times a week.

But by the time I got to the track, I was ready to go back to bed, and it was only 7:30am. We ran the track workout half-heartedly (that’s probably a generous description). I came home, fired up my coffee maker, and sat my butt on the couch in front of men’s tennis to think about why I’m feeling tired and why I could barely deadlift this morning and WHY I CANNOT GET A M-Fing MUSCLE UP.

I should say, I enjoy the view from here, make no mistake. I’m aware of the substantial gains I’ve made in the past year; I’m grateful for what I’ve been able to accomplish. Plateauing (oh good gravy, that string of vowels is making me itch), we should remind ourselves, means that we’ve worked and climbed to get where we are; that’s no insignificant feat. But still, the stall is frustrating.

So, I practiced my google-fu today to see if there was any consensus about how we can find a foothold to keep climbing UP.

5 (Actually, 7) Ways to Break a Training Plateau from CrossFit West. I like the 5X5 back squat linear progression suggestion, though I’m not sure adding in more work is what I need — maybe I need to replace that with a regular wod one day? Also I think dialing back into what I’m eating is another thing I can leverage.

Breaking Through Your Plateau from CrossFit Fire. I’m firmly in Phase III: “You still come to class regularly, but you’ve picked up your liquid grains 2-3 nights a week again, and you regularly sneak a cookie from your co-worker’s desk.” Here’s more advice about nutrition. And while I’m not big on the cookie sneak, I am back to drinking a glass of wine or a beer or two 3-4 times a week.

Plateaus and What to do About Them from CrossFit Ocean City. “The foundation for all training is nutrition.” Well, I’d say I’ve got my answer.

I suppose I’ll go eat some brussels.

Leave a Reply

