paleo fig cookies

OK people. You know these cookies are good when Hannah eats THREE of them.
Paleo Fig Cookies.
I found some figs at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago, and they’ve been sitting on my counter looking a bit forlorn. Today I had a hankering for cookies, so I thought I should try to do some fig newton-like cookies. I love them.

Oven @ 350.

DRY:
1 1/2 C almond flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

WET:
1/4 C coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 tbsp applesauce

FIG TOPPING:
10 dried figs (I used Trader Joe’s Turkish Smyrna Figs)
10 dates
1/3 C apple sauce

Combine dry ingredients and then the wet; then combine both together to make the cookie dough. Then, put the fig topping ingredients in the food processor and combine until smooth-ish. The figs will have those lovely crunchy seeds that do not incorporate, but that’s ok. Those crunchy seed things are what make the figs so delightful.

Then, take a teaspoon full of dough and about half as much fig mash, and moosh and roll them together. Press the moosh into a cookie shape and place on parchment paper.

Bake for 15 minutes on parchment. (I also used one of those no-burn baking pans.)

The result is kind of an opposite-fig-newton, in that the fig should coat the outside of the cookie. Also, I had about 1/4 C of the fig mash leftover. You probably will too, unless you manage to do a better job of matching cookie-to-fruit ratio than I did.
Hannah eats a paleo cookie. Holy crap.

2 thoughts on “paleo fig cookies

  1. Heather: I use Spectrum Organic (http://www.spectrumorganics.com/?id=87#j47). They sell it in the hippie aisle at our local grocery store. I also have a jar of Trader Joe’s Coconut Oil in the pantry, but I haven’t used it yet. I bought it today because it was 2/3 the cost of the Spectrum (which generally runs about 10 bucks a jar).

    Also, we don’t have a Trader Joe’s here in York. They have them in Baltimore, though, about an hour south. I go down about once a month and stock up. Today we took my dad to the airport (BWI), so we stopped in at TJ’s on the way home.

Leave a Reply

