61

An uneventful, cheat-free day. Not many of those happening lately. Yay for small victories! woo hoo!

For a story on a big victory, my alma mater (my first alma mater, that is) Norfolk State University totally upset Missouri today in the March Madness… uh, madness. I do not follow basketball, and I have not filled out a bracket. I didn’t know NSU was even IN the brackets, at all. I didn’t know about the upset until I heard about it on Facebook from fellow NSU grad. However, I did do a little reading around to see just how amazing it was that NSU beat Missouri. I came across this nugget on espn.com:

Norfolk State had a 1.0% chance of reaching the Round of 32.

A 1% chance. I love that. It means that even when the chances are low — bottom-of-the-barrel, scraping-the-worm’s-belly, nowhere-to-go-but-up LOW — that there is still a chance. I really really really like that. It’s wonderful and hopeful. I also love stories of the underdog rising up, cliched as they generally are.

In other news: my most recent poison ivy salve-experiments have been 1) hand sanitizer, which seems to work both for drying it out and for keeping it from itching so terribly, and 2) NU-SKIN, which was suggested by Brian and seems to be working to keep me from tearing my skin open with my fingernails (for now).

Breakfast:
[7:30]
two eggs and two links of turkey sausage
coffee + almond milk

Lunch:
[11:30]
one apple and one pear, chunked and drizzled with almond butter + chopped pecans and sunflower seeds

Snack:
[3:30]
grapes and grapes and grapes

Snack:
[5:45]
a few handfuls of pumpkin seeds

Dinner:
[7:30]
5 oz grilled T-Bone (deeee-lish!) + sauteed zucchini and yellow squash + steamed green beans
more grapes
[There was a legit food fight at the dinner table tonight involving the grapes. It started with people tossing grapes across the table into one another’s mouths — it began as a fair show of athleticism, the throwing/aiming as well as the catching. However, then someone (BRIAN) started in with the “fastball” style shots, which were less well-aimed (really, he was throwing grapes at people’s cheeks) and more difficult to catch (impossible, really). And then all hell broke loose, and we’ll be stepping on grapes all weekend.]
cup of almond milk

Snack:
[9:30]
Sunflower and pumpkin seeds

WOD: Busy 4:00 session made for lots of fun. 5 min AMRAP 10 ring dips and 10 situps [3 rounds + 1 ring dip]; 2 min rest; 5 min AMRAP burpee box jumps [51 reps completed on a 20″ box]; 2 min rest; 5 min AMRAP 5 hand-stand pushups and 10 pistols [3 rounds + a couple pistols… can’t remember this one]. Could not complete my 50 GHDs because they began the 12.4 WOD immediately after the regular workout, and the GHD contraptions were in the middle of that action. I felt like I would have been in the way. Instead, I worked on some light snatches and overhead squats (10 reps at 33#, 53# and 63#). My wrists still get sad about the wide grip, but they’ll just have to deal. It’s 10:00pm now; I may or may not do some V-ups on the bedroom floor. My money’s on mayhap not.

Leave a Reply

