56

Daylight Saving kind of flubbed things up today in terms of WHEN I ate.

I’m supposed to be submitting recipes each week, but I’m really not eating much that requires a recipe; nearly every meal I eat is your basic in-the-pan with some vegetables and meat. Not too exciting, I know; however, I’m also not feeling particularly burned out. I’ll re-double my efforts this week and see what I can come up with.

Breakfast:
[5:30]
coffee + almond milk
2 “power bar” cookies (see recipe below) eaten in the stands at the hockey rink

Breakfast #2:
[8:30]
4 ozs leftover filet and 2 eggs over easy

Snack:
[12:00]
Cashew Larabar eaten in the stands. Josh had some fantastic goals today, so all the freezing and yawning was worth it.
coffee + almond milk

Lunch?
[3:30]
one half chicken breast with brussels and onions
one Colbey brownie (made with dark raw honey… so delicious)

Snack:
[4:00]
one power bar cookie
about 1/4 C of sunflower seeds

Dinner:
[8:30]
4 ozs of grilled filet; 3 ozs grilled Mahi Mahi; asparagus and broccoli cooked in garlic and onion
I love paleo.

No WOD, but we enjoyed an 8-mile bike on the Rail Trail probably at about 50% intensity.

Power Bar Cookies
I call them power bar cookies because their taste is slightly reminiscent of the Chocolate Power bar. And they really have no business being called a cookie, anyway. There’s not a trace of badness in them, as far as I’m concerned. And while they are similar to the original “no-cheat” (but-really-cheating) cookies, these bad boys DO NOT CHEAT. 🙂 I added an egg, reduced the oil, and used dates and applesauce for the sweetness.
makes about 2 dozen small cookies

10-12 small dates
1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/4 C coconut oil
1 egg

2 1/2 C almond flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
8 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 C chopped nuts (I used pecans and pistachios)
coconut flakes spread on a small plate for

Combine wet ingredients in the food processor, getting the dates as pureed as possible. Then combine wet and dry; incorporate nuts. Roll and then flatten about a tbsp worth of the dough between your fingers to shape the cookies. This recipe is slightly wetter than my earlier attempts, so I found that rolling the dough between my fingers allowed me to release the cookie onto the pan more easily. (When I rolled the dough between my palms, the cookie would stick stubbornly to my hands and be generally uncooperative.) Press each cookie gently into the coconut flakes to coat the bottom; then, place each cookie coconut-flake-side down on the cookie sheet. (Note, I also had to lick/rinse my fingers after every 4-5 cookies because of the gooey factor.)

12 minutes in the oven at 325.

One thought on “56

  1. I was so thrown off by daylight savings too… but I forced myself to eat at my usual times even though I wasn’t very hungry because I am just trying to get myself back on routine! It’s weird how just a one hour jump can do this do us! Your dinner by the way, looks amazingly delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

