51

The question emerges: Am I eating enough? I don’t know. I don’t feel particularly hungry (though as a write this, I’m thinking of grabbing a snack…probably some dried green beans or maybe some PORK RINDS… holy good gravy I never thought I’d want to eat pork rinds… did you know they make SALT AND VINEGAR PORK RINDS? I wish I didn’t know that, either).

I’m a bit scared to admit this, but I don’t honestly believe that I’m working hard enough to eat as much as many CrossFitters do. I can’t find the link right now, but a few weeks ago I came across a discussion board where one CrossFitting dude had listed all he’d eaten that day. He ate like 3 pounds of steak and a dozen eggs and a whole head of broccoli — or somesuch crazy amount of food — and he’d eaten all that because he was working out HARD. He needed that fuel. And now I know I’m clearly not a dude, and I’m not a trainer or a Games athlete, and so clearly I don’t need to eat three pounds of steak. Clearly. (Mmmm. Steak.) Anyway, I know that crazy steak dude is an extreme example, but my point is this: I think I’m eating enough to sustain the work I’m doing right now.

Operative phrase, there: right now.

So this is where reading around on the interwebs gets me into trouble, I’ve come across something that might make me need to eat a little more: two-a-days. What would be better than one WOD? Well, two, of course.

Breakfast:
[7:30]
one egg scrambled with orange pepper, onion, and mushroom
coffee + almond milk

Lunch:
[12:30]
one of Kelsey’s quite successful brownies
two small apples with a spoon of almond butter and sprinkled with chopped pecans and sunflower seeds

Snack:
[4:30]
1/2 cup (total) of banana chips, dried cranberries, and almonds

Snack:
[5:30]
another lovely Kelsey brownie

Dinner:
[6:30]
a “burrito” made with an egg-as-wrap and stuffed with taco meat (ground beef, green chilies, taco seasoning)

WOD: push jerks today. The goal was to do 5 sets of 5 reps, increasing the weight after each set. I started at 65, which was deceivingly easy, and then increased by 10# each set. This turned out to be too ambitious; when I got to my last set at 105, I could only get it up 2 or 3 times.

4 thoughts on “51

  1. I’d agree that food intake may not be enough, it looks like today you had about 2-3 eggs and maybe 1/4 lbs of ground meat, that’s like maybe 20-30 g of protein, which is about 1/3 of what you should have based on the activity level. A post WOD protein shake will have about 24-30g of protein. the 2 WODs a day can be interesting, We’ll talk more soon

  2. I need to know about these better brownies. Stat. I eat like at least 2 eggs + meat + fruit etc for breakfast. And I don’t work out that much. But I do like to eat. I think you probably know if you are hungry or not…

  3. Missy, I am doing the 11:00 sessions this week. Lynn, I’ll post the recipe for Kelsey’s successful brownies as soon as I get my hands on it. I can say, though, that your inclination to include coconut was spot-on. She put some into her batch and they were delish.
    Rusty, very excited to try a two-a-day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

