45

So, I still like my sweet potato brownies. I ate one today for breakfast and had one after lunch. I paused over the pan this morning before I cut myself a square, asking myself whether it was a good idea to eat a brownie for breakfast. And then I reminded myself what they contained: Sweet potato. Prunes. Eggs. Sounds like breakfast to me. I dug in.

And here we are at the halfway mark. I saw a friend today that I haven’t seen since September. She told me that I looked really great, which made my day. Then she asked if I was still doing that crazy cult fit stuff? How often did I go? Was I on a crazy diet, too?

The answers were: 1) Yes. I love CrossFit, and I love my CrossFit people. It is not a cult, it is a community. 2) I go at least 5 days a week. [At this, her jaw dropped a little.] I would go every day if they let me, but they won’t. (Something about rest and recovery. Rusty is smarter than I am; I listen.) 3) And to answer her last question, I began to explain how I was half way through this experimental diet challenge, and then I stopped. I’m not sure this is an experiment anymore. I certainly don’t see myself as being “on a diet.” I mean, I’ll eat cheese again, and I’ll put half and half in my coffee the minute this business is over. [Dude, the MINUTE.] I’m going to use honey and agave and make some awesome cookies and brownies. But this really isn’t a diet for me. I kind of like eating without the sugar rushes and crashes, without the bloating in my gut. I like that my skin is good and my hair is healthy. I like that I’m LOOKING FORWARD to shopping for a new bathing suit. I. do. not. joke.

So, I just told her that I eat very differently now. I eat brownies made out of sweet potatoes and prunes. And then I invited her to come and hang out during a session at CFYork. If I can get her in there, I think she’ll be hooked, just like me.

Breakfast:
[8:00]
2 slices of bacon
1 sweet potato brownie
coffee + coconut milk

Lunch:
[1:00]
2 crumbled slices of bacon + brussels and mushrooms heated in a pan
1 sweet potato brownie

Snack:
[2:00]
1 small apple + glob of almond butter, sprinkled with coconut flakes and chopped pecans

Snack:
[4:30]
20 pistachios and 1/4 C pecans

Dinner:
[7:30]
gigantic salad of mixed greens, onions, tomatoes, sliced apples, pecans, and grilled chicken with balsamic vinegar and olive oil

WOD: For time, 50-40-30-20-10 squats, hand-release push-ups, and sit-ups. I finished in 15:30ish. Then, I did 10 hand-stand push-ups, worked a little bit on my muscle-up, and attempted the butterfly technique for pull-ups.

Leave a Reply

