coconut chocolate chip cookies


NOTE to all CFY Paleo Questers: These cookies do count as a cheat, since the chocolate I use is made with demarara sugar. You might be able to replace the Lindt chocolate with baker’s chocolate or with something unsweetened, but I assure you they are worth the cheat.

Ingredients:
1 1/4 C almond flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill, which is a course meal)
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

1/8 C coconut oil
>1/4 C agave (next time I make them, I’m going to reduce this by about a third)
1 tsp vanilla

1/4 C [about 1/4 of the bar] Lindt extra dark chocolate (85%), crumbled into “chips”

coconut flakes

Pre-heat oven to 325.

Pulse the almond meal, salt, and soda in the food processor for about a minute. According to bakergal, Bob’s Red Mill is too coarse for cookies, but it’s all we have at our local grocery store. Putting it in the food processor helps, though. I had no complaints about the texture.

Combine agave, coconut oil, and vanilla in a bowl. I had to put the “oil” (which is the consistency of Crisco) into the microwave for about 15 seconds to soften it up.

Combine wet and dry ingredients. [Your dough should be like a wet play-doh, strong enough to withstand rolling between your palms to make ball.] Fold in chocolate chips.

Sprinkle coconut flakes on the cookie sheet (this prevents them from sticking; also, it makes the COCONUTTY. Yum)

Roll cookies into small balls, and then flatten into cookies manually (according to the original recipe, they will not spread like conventional cookies, so you must force them into the cookie shape).

Place on coconut-flaked sheet and bake for about 12 minutes. I’d watch them carefully, though. Bakergal says they burn easily, and when I made them I used an insulated aluminum cookie pan. On a regular cookie sheet, you may need to bake them for only half that time. Therefore, I babysat the cookies diligently:
Waiting for the cookies.

It’s a very good idea to let other people know you have cookies. They will (rightfully) expect to GET SOME, and then you have the responsibility to an outside party that prevents you from eating the whole batch.

3 thoughts on “coconut chocolate chip cookies

  1. As the resident Paleo “outside party” in M’s neighborhood I can attest that: these are completely wonderful, as in the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever had. And: if you eat your “outside party” rations in a single sitting, they only count as one cheat!

    1. Colbey, I’m so glad you like them. 🙂 It makes me happy that I can make you as happy as your brownies made me. I’m going to experiment with the dough and add some cocoa powder and nuts to make a different, NON-cheat cookie. I’ll be sure to ask you to taste-test them for me.

Leave a Reply

