day twenty-five

So. I totally caved… and I ate nuts for lunch and for dinner tonight. NUTS AND RAISINS AND DATES. I have an excuse: I ran out of time, and I ran out of chicken. I had to eat a super-fast lunch because of a hectic schedule on campus today, and then later this evening I needed to pack food to eat at the hockey rink during Jack’s practice. I had no hard-boiled eggs, no leftover grilled chicken or prepared chicken salad, no leftover steak or cooked vegetables. This lifestyle requires good planning, organization, and time, and today I had none of that. So for lunch I ate a Raw Revolution Bar, and for dinner I made a bag of trailmix and threw some carrots and snap peas in a bowl and called it good.

The victory today is that I discovered a substitute for hot cereal: steamed acorn squash with a little honey and some turkey sausage. It’s hot, I can eat it with a spoon out of a bowl, and it’s not an egg. 🙂

Breakfast:
[8:00]
half an acorn squash with a little bit of honey (about 1 tsp) and 2 links of turkey sausage
tea + almond milk

Snack:
[10:00]
one small apple with a spoonful of almond butter

Lunch:
[1:00]
applesauce
Raw Revolution Bar (Coconut)

Snack:
[3:30]
one egg scrambled with half a zucchini, onion, and mushrooms

Dinner:
[6:00]
raw carrots and snap peas
almonds, cashews, dates and raisins
tea + almond milk

WOD: 30-20-10-20-30 reps of double-unders, clean and jerks (65#), and push-ups. Took me about 31 minutes. This was a really great workout; I felt like a truck ran over me when I was finished. I love that.

One thought on “day twenty-five

  1. I think you’ll be totally fine with the nuts 🙂 They’re just so handy and easy though aren’t they? I often have some in my purse or truck. And the acorn squash thing sounds good. Never had one before.

Leave a Reply

