day eleven

Yesterday I managed to go without dried fruit — I may have managed to go several days, but now I can’t remember. Anyway, today I needed a little boost in the evening as I graded papers, so I thought, “Hey, I’ll have me a little sugar.” And then I thought, “Oooh. That was good…maybe I’ll have me some more…” I can see how sugar has weaseled its way into our diets. It goes straight to your brain like crack.

Breakfast:
[8:30]
One egg, 3 slices of (burnt — yuk) bacon [It’s what happens when you try to do a load of laundry while you’re frying bacon. Not the sharpest, me.]
Tea with almond milk

Snack:
[9:30]
2 more slices of yucko-bacon

Lunch:
[12:00]
Heavenly roast pork with apple gravy, this time with some spaghetti squash thrown in for good measure.

Snack:
[1:30]
almonds, pistachios, cashews

Snack:
[5:30]
Several handsful of dried carrots
one small pear (whee!)

Snack:
[6:30]
cashews, dates, and dried blueberries (whee!)

Dinner:
[8:00]
A few bites of roast pork + spaghetti squash + gravy, but I wasn’t feeling it. I might (gasp!) be a little bit sick of it already.

WOD:
Well, the workout was hard to describe, and harder to get through. But I did. On the board were the following movements:
5 pistols (one-legged squats)/each side,
10 toes-to-bar,
20 burpees,
40 kettlebell swings (I did 40#),
60 double-unders,
80 hand-release push-ups,
and 100 lunges.

We first got three minutes to get as far as we could (I completed a couple kb swings, not many). Then we rested for a minute. Then we got six minutes to get as far as we could, starting back at the beginning with the pistols, and that time I got to the double-unders and completed like 29 of them or so. Then we rested for a minute (maybe two). Then, we were timed for our completion of the full workout. I always forget to look at my time, so I don’t remember how long it took, but I do remember taking a nap on the concrete floor in between hand-release push-ups. Oh. My. Hell.

It was a great workout!

Leave a Reply

