day eight

Some housekeeping here: first, I’ve been informed by our smart, fearless leader in this business (the lovely Kelsey) that I eat a whole lotta sugar. In her words, eating dried fruit is like eating little sugar bombs. *boom* So, my job this week is to limit my fruit, especially my dried fruit and bananas, so I’m not sugaring up so much.

Second, I was nervous last week that I was actually gaining weight. After the first day, when I found myself very hungry, I decided that my best strategy was to avoid hunger and therefore temptation. So I spent the rest of the week loading my plate up and making sure I was snacking enough. I also spent the rest of the week feeling like my stomach was distended. Yuk. Although now I wonder if the bloat was sugar bloat from all the damn raisins I was eating. Anyway, Kelsey put me on the scale this morning after the WOD, and we found that I weigh the same as when we began last week. That was very reassuring… although I have to admit it was also discouraging, because I’m looking to take a few last pounds off here. Again, I suppose eating a bazillion dried apricots each day increased my calorie load enough that I wasn’t anywhere near a deficit.

Third, I discovered almond milk. Well, I didn’t discover it so much as Lisa whispered its lovely secret to me: lovely and wonderful. I began drinking it in my tea and now I actually look forward to my morning tea almost (only almost) as much as I used to look forward to my coffee. I also drink a small cup of it when I feel like I might be a little hungry and want some raisins!

Breakfast:
[7:30]
one mango (I ate before Kelsey gave me the bad news about my fruit problem)
tea with 1/4 C of unsweetened almond milk

Snack:
[10:00]
trailmix (sunflower seeds, coconut flakes, almonds, pepitos)

Lunch:
[12:30]
Leftover grilled steak and steamed brussels sprouts (that bag is STILL IN MY FRIDGE. I think they’re multiplying when the refrigerator light goes out or something).

Snack:
[3:30]
A few bites of some leftover pork carnitas from an old doggy bag in the fridge. They were kinda dry, so I gave up on them and
drank about a 1/2 cup of almond milk.

Snack:
[5:30]
A handful of dried vegies. Here’s the kind I really like and have been eating. I’ve done some brief research on both the canola oil and on the taro in terms of whether they’re properly paleo, and it seems (from what I’ve read) that it depends on who you ask. I suppose if Kelsey makes me do burpees for eating them, I’ll stop. But they are TASTY.

Dinner:
[7:00]
Grilled steak and chicken (about 3 oz of each) with delicious wilted spinach. [Again, Brian blessed me with his awesome cooking skills tonight and not only made dinner, but also grilled up enough steak and chicken to last me the whole week. He also is dry marinating a pork shoulder for dinner tomorrow. I’d probably live on hard-boiled eggs here without him.]

Here’s my recipe for week 2: Brian’s Amazing Wilted Spinach
[I’m offering this recipe from observation, so I’m guessing at the amounts.]

Ingredients:
1 decent-sized package of spinach. We like Wegman’s Organic Triple Washed.
Lemon juice
Balsamic Vinegar
Minced garlic (he uses the easy-in-the-jar stuff, which is a great time-saver)

In a large frying pan on medium heat, throw in a forkful of the minced garlic. Put the spinach in there. Squirt a little lemon juice (he’s used the ReaLemon as well as fresh; either is fine) and sprinkle a little balsamic vinegar over the spinach. Stir around until it is wilted to your liking (I like it bright green, which only takes a couple of minutes).

The only complaint I have about this recipe is how much the spinach cooks down. When Brian made this for dinner tonight, I ate nearly the WHOLE BAG myself. Brian put a small portion on his plate first, and I greedily scraped the rest from the pan onto mine. Then, after I devoured my whole portion, I looked longingly at his remaining couple bites and he generously gave the rest of his to me.

WOD
Helen. Three rounds for time: Row 400m, 21 Kettlebell swings @ 35#, 12 pull ups. I did it in 14ish minutes.
ALSO: I took Joshua sledding at Reservoir Hill. It was an AMRAP 45 minutes uphill/slide down. I got 5 rounds. šŸ™‚

One thought on “day eight

Leave a Reply

