day six

As I expected, weekends are hard. We spend most of our weekends freezing in hockey rinks, and I normally cuddle up with a large coffee to help keep me warm. We also tend to eat out when we’re on the road to those various hockey rinks, so I’ll be relying on more portable meals, which I haven’t really devised yet. The yam and apple pancakes are good cold. This is going to turn into the yam and apple pancake diet. Hm.

Breakfast (on-the-go to an early hockey game):
[6:30]
Tea
2 handsful of dried fruit (apricot, banana, date) and nuts (almonds, cashews, pistachios)

Breakfast #2/Lunch:
[10:30]
Two yam and apple pancakes (I should mention here that these were the last two from the original batch of “batter” I made earlier in the week. The grated yam-apple-egg batter keeps well in the fridge.)
5 or 6 or 7 slices of bacon (I lost count. Well, I didn’t count. But I know I didn’t eat the whole pack, since when I cook bacon the kids eat it as it comes out of the pan.)

Snack:
[3:00]
1 and 1/2 large Braeburn apples

Snack:
[4:30]
Many banana chips (I get mine in the bulk food section of Giant, where I was happy to find an unsweetened variety)

Snack:
[5:30]
More banana chips dipped in SALSA (Sound gross? IT’S NOT! Brian was eating chips and salsa as he was making dinner, and the salsa smelled amazing and I wanted some pretty badly. I considered just eating some with a spoon, but then I remembered the banana chips.)

Dinner:
[6:30]
Grilled steak, shrimp, green beans, and zucchini. (Courtesy my lovely resident chef. He is such a better cook than I.)

No WOD today — rest.

One thought on “day six

  1. You need to stock up on Larabars! 🙂

    I have a good recipe for “crackers” made out of ground almonds, too. Lemme know if that sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

