winter break

In central New York, the public schools do an especially mean thing to parents.

In the dead of February, when everyone (read: ME) is near insanity with the snow and crappy weather, the schools let the kids have a week off school.

What I have to look forward to this week: Big J on his roller blades practicing his puck-handling with a heavy rubber ball and hockey stick. H working to stick her aerial and back handspring. Little J riding the full-size skateboard (probably in bare feet, which makes my back crawl).

Yes. All of this IN. THE. HOUSE. I’m not even exaggerating.

2 thoughts on “winter break

  1. Hi I just recently found your blog and I’m enjoying it greatly.

    I lived in NY until my son’s final year of HS and I SO sympathize with your February break woes. Don’t know if it’s true but I heard it was a deal made by the teachers’ union when they couldn’t get the raises or benefits they deserved.

    Good luck!

  2. I’m not sure what the origin of the February winter break is; when I first moved here I thought it was essentially the “we’d have this week off anyway for snow days, so we might as well just take it off anyway” kind of decision.

    Regardless of the purpose of the extra vacation, it makes for an extremely LATE school year. The extra week of in February, plus all the snow days we get, makes it so that kids don’t get out of school until the last week in June. I find this ridiculous, but only because when/where I grew up, we got out before Memorial Day.

Comments are closed.