this angers me

I live in NY, and because I’m a registered voter but not registered with either party, I cannot vote in the primaries.

I suppose this is a problem I could have remedied before today, so that I could have voted; however. However I didn’t. Mostly because I find it incredibly irresponsible that NY still has such an antiquated system. Mostly because I don’t WANT to be registered as a party member. But mostly because, as has been my refrain for the last few days, sometimes having to choose is incredibly hard, and it’s easier when other people make decisions for me.

Don’t flame me; I know the danger in such ambivalent attitudes.

Anyway, because I couldn’t vote I don’t have a voting narrative. However, I read this post over at elevene today with increasing anger. Not only (or necessarily) because there was a mistake made at a poling station, and not only because it resulted in someone leaving the poll without having been able to cast his vote, but because the jerk at the booth kept blaming some other lady for what was probably his mistake.

Nothing peeves me more than people blaming other people to save their own ass.

4 thoughts on “this angers me

  1. LOL — which primary do you think you should be allowed to vote in? Oh, I know you — ALL of them, haha! If you want to help us choose the party candidate, you have to choose the party affiliation.

    Like you’re ever gonna vote republican. C’mon! Get registered with the party already!

    >:-)
    d.

  2. Yeah, I finally caved and registered as a demo, despite every scandihoovian cell in my body screaming…er, shaking its head in disgust. Because you never ever let other folks tell you what to do.

    Even if you were going to do it anyway.

    And then, because I couldn’t make up my mind, I ended up not voting. (I had been leaning toward Edwards. Go figure.)

    And yeah, this whole “It’s not my fault thing.” Pointless and unnecessary. Who cares whose fault something is? Find a way to fix it, or find someone who can.

    Really people.

  3. Yeah, a few years ago, I never would have figured myself as an Edwards person. But I think my main goal is to get the republicans out, pretty much at any cost. Whoever we can get in that won’t split the vote is who I’m for. Now if I can just figure out who that is…

  4. Yeah, a few years ago, I never would have figured myself as an Edwards person. But I think my main goal is to get the republicans out, pretty much at any cost. Whoever we can get in that won’t split the vote is who I’m for. Now if I can just figure out who that is…

Comments are closed.