happy merry

Here’s this the photo that’s going into the mail this year to family and far away friends.

Getting a decent pic of the 5 of us is quite an ordeal. While H is always pristinely groomed, the boys are not. I had to send Big J upstairs three times to change his clothes, and when he finally came down with shorts on I gave up. Little J was not in the mood to be asked to oblige anyone anything today. One thing that sometimes does cheer him up is his Power Ranger costume, so I told him that he could leave it on (he’s worn it all day–my attempt to cheer him) if he would sit still on my lap for a moment. Apparently, it half-worked (he sat on my lap, but not still–see the blur of his hands?).

Also what you don’t see in the pic: the box of baby wipes I used to clean dinner off the boys’ faces; the hairbrush at my feet that I touched only briefly to each child’s head (but somehow missed my own); and the 4+ feet of snow in the yard that I, for some reason, despise more this year than any year we’ve been here thus far. It might have to do with the small detail that we are not in possession of a working snowblower right now. Not that I mind the shoveling too terribly; in fact, I welcome the workout now that I’ve been truant from running for so long. I simply dread the day when the precip count is too much for my small scoop and that trying to shovel the drive would be like digging a garden with a teaspoon.

So, my plate for the next several days is full full full: an invited talk at a local retirement community, H’s production of the Nutcracker tomorrow night, finishing and turning in grades, last minute shopping, finishing chapter 3, and leaving for Virginia. Blogging here will be, needless to say, light until the end of the year.

So happy merry everyone!

7 thoughts on “happy merry

  1. It’ll have to be early, Suze. But yes, a skinny mocha or whatever fancy thing you drink would be delightful–along with your company, of course!

  2. It’ll have to be early, Suze. But yes, a skinny mocha or whatever fancy thing you drink would be delightful–along with your company, of course!

Comments are closed.