weekend report

In the list, as they are so efficient!

Picked apples. Good GRAVY, how have I lived in NY for 5 years and not ever picked and eaten Honey Crisp?? They are worth $1 a pound (over .50 more than the other varieties). I’m going back tomorrow to get more. I have eaten FIVE today.

Ran 10 miles. I skipped the 20 last week, but I’m all about the TAPER. 🙂 In two weeks from RIGHT NOW, I will have finished the last marathon I’ll run in a good while.

Weighed myself for the first time in about 6 months. And all my belly aching about gaining a few pounds was for not; I’m actually about 5 pounds down from my normal weight. I think it’s because I’m replacing muscle mass with flab, though.

Made four apple pies. No Honey Crisp in the pie, though. Macs. We’re eating it with vanilla ice cream. I love apple season. Love it. Was I just talking about flab? Get me another piece of pie!!

Made the HOTTEST curry I’ve ever tasted. It’s almost too hot to freekin eat, but I’m stubborn and ate two bowls for dinner last night. The first bite tastes wonderful, until you can’t feel your mouth or lips any more, and by the third or fourth bite your guts are warm like you’re drinking Wild Turkey. By the middle of the bowl you’re wondering whether you’ll ever be able to actually taste again. I had a bowl for lunch today but couldn’t finish it. I think it actually got hotter.

Used the word “Bourdieu-ness” during my diss-writing session today. Still wondering if that’s an effect of too much Panera coffee combined with too much staring at words on the screen, or if I really mean it.

Rode bikes with the kids to the park, where I sat in the warm grass and read papers and the kids swung and jumped from the swings repeatedly. The sky is bluer and the grass greener here than anywhere I’ve been. I kept getting distracted by the contrast of colors and the shrieks of delight coming from the swingset.

Cut Little J’s hobbit-like toenails. They grow so fast I can barely keep them a reasonable length, and his penchant for running around barefoot makes them impossible to get clean. He kicks and laughs and I risk getting clocked in the face, but I escaped unscathed this time.

4 thoughts on “weekend report

  1. This is a sort of non-sequitir, but it has to do with theory-ness. You may know about this, but my husband alerted me to Kevin Goldsmith, who sings theory, which may or may not make it more enjoyable.
    Here’s a link.
    http://www.writing.upenn.edu/pennsound/x/Goldsmith.html
    It’s actually quite funny.
    Good luck with your race. I’m doing a half in one month and am already facing burnout. My plan? Cross train. But the apple pie sounds good too.

  2. I went apple picking and did see the expensive apples, couldn’t bring myself to spend the extra, sounds like I should have. I’m made all the apples into apple sauce so far. Afraid to start the apple pies or may never want to stop. See, I knew you haven’t put on a pound! J.

  3. I am insanely jealous of your apple situation. Here in Central State, our only choices are Red Delicious, Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Gala and Braeburn and they are mealy by the time they get here.

    Something creamy in the curry will cut the hot – I’ve used a small amount of sour cream before, and the tastes were surprisingly complementary…

  4. Mommy, I will miss the apple orchards here almost as much as I will miss the people. Sometimes, maybe I’ll miss the apples more. 🙂

    And I did eat a final bowl of the curry with a glob of cottage cheese–it cooled it enough for me to eat through about half the bowl. But gah it was hot–I had to chuck the rest.

Comments are closed.