recovery

So. Aside from the article that continues to refuse to write itself, and the (now from multiple kids) barfing in my house, the other worrisome component in my life is this left knee. I think it’s better, I think.

I’ve been running 3 miles or so, every other day, for about 2 weeks. I’ve iced it faithfully for 20 minutes after every run, and I’ve alternated running with and without the neoprene sleeve. The pain has subsided to near nothing, returned and subsided, returned and subsided.

Today, which is supposed to be the second twenty on Hal Higdon’s Intermediate II schedule, I made it 5 miles with the sleeve and feel pretty solidly recovered. The sleeve itself makes it hard to tell whether or not the knee hurts during the run, but now that I’m back it feels completely normal. No twinges from within, and it’s not tender when I manually wiggle my kneecap with my fingers.

The problem, though, is that at this point I can’t jump back into the training where I left off, and I can’t jump back in where I should be on the calendar because I’ll surely re-injure myself. So I’m back to Mr. Higdon’s site, rigging together a 4-week schedule from the Beginner I chart. I’m not sure where that will put me when it comes time for the race in terms of finishing time (I’d like to finish under 5), but at this point I’m really just more concerned about finishing without injury.

It’s moments like these that I wonder if I want to continue to train for and run marathons–while I enjoy the running immensely, and I really am not (obviously) concerned with breaking any records, it just seems silly to be constantly flirting with damage and suffering.

One thought on “recovery

  1. As a person who’s not very good about setting clear goals and following through, any suggestions I offer are completely suspect. That said, I wonder if rather than saying it’s silly to keep doing this, it’s important to affirm what you have accomplished thus far and adjust a bit, setting your goals a bit differently. Perhaps if your goal is to be able to continue running into your dotage, then marathons aren’t the best way to get there.

    Of course, you don’t have to make *any* decisions right now. You can give yourself permission to just see how this race goes–maybe to check in at particular points to see how the knee and the rest of you are feeling, since you won’t have had optimum training.

    I continue to be in awe of the running. And I *will* get to the point of doing this consistently…I will!

Comments are closed.