great green


So, my push for a vegetarian week was easily thwarted last night. B and I every-so-unoften bribe the neighbor girl with cash to watch the monster children in my house so we can sneak off and eat a non-kid meal.

Last night we treated ourselves to a local eatery that we have not yet tried in our 5 years living in the north country, and after our meal we wanted to kick ourselves for not having stopped in sooner.

Not only did B order a prime rib, which I *had* to sample, I decided that my usual Italian favorite, eggplant parmesan, was not a special enough dish for our date night, so I ordered seafood pasta with garlic and olive oil.

O. my. god. So. good.

At any rate, this morning I realized I heinously compromised my vegetarianism, so I decided to throw together a split pea. I don’t normally call it soup because, as with the dal, I really prefer it thicker than any soup or stew normally is. Split pea the way I know it is flavored with ham, hence the total break in my attempted abstention from flesh.

1lb split peas
1lb ham steak cubed (or more if you want more meat)
1lb carrots chopped (I really like the sweetness carrots lend, so I use a lot)
1 onion diced
celery salt
pepper
1 Tbsp Bragg’s

[clean and sort the peas if you want–sometimes I’m too impatient]
Boil the peas in 2 quarts of water for 15 minutes, and then take them from the heat and let them sit, covered, while you prep the vegetables and meat. Crank the heat back up to medium and throw all the other stuff in and cook it down until the peas are mush and the ham is fall-y apart-y. If you want your carrots intact when all is said and done, wait to put them in until the peas are cooked, and then simmer it for another half hour or so.

Pretty easy. I end up cooking mine for about an hour and a half or so, and I do have to baby sit it a little bit to make sure the pea mush doesn’t settle into a thick sticky swamp on the bottom of the pan.

One thought on “great green

  1. Last night the smell of my neighbor’s barbecue absolutely forced me to try some ribs last night. I’ve been a vegetarian for almost two years and I don’t regret my choice until I see food drenched in barbecue sauce…

Comments are closed.