masoor dal

I’m kicking off a vegetarian eating week. Yesterday I made a pot of masoor dal. As per my usual habit, I spent a good bit of time on the internets looking at possible recipes, trying to find one that included ingredients that I had on hand. Then, with an *idea* in my head of what the dish needed and how it might be cooked, I ambled into my kitchen and started throwing ingredients at my stovetop.

It turned out pretty good.

2 C masoor (red) lentils
2 small onions diced
1 head (6-7 cloves) of garlic pressed
Tb olive oil
heaping tsp garam masala
heaping tsp tumeric
heaping tsp ground ginger
shake of red pepper flakes
can of diced tomato

Rinse the lentils and then boil in 1 quart of water for 15 minutes. Add garam masala, tumeric, and ginger and continue simmering on medium-low. Saute the onions and garlic in the oil until soft, and then add the pepper flakes and the (drained) tomato and cook for a few minutes. Then dump the onion-tomato mix into the lentil mush and continue to cook down, until it gets as thick as you want it. I prefer it thick, so I cooked it down for another 1/2 hour or so.

Especially good with a dollop of plain yogurt. I was sad, though, that the dal did not stay the pretty pink-orange color of the red lentils.

2 thoughts on “masoor dal

  1. You didn’t say what color the stew came out, though I’ll guess with the tomatoes and tumeric it came out more orange.

    One way to get the lentils to hold their color a bit more is to cook then with a bit of vinegar.

    Your creation sounds yummy!

  2. I love this kind of dal! The recipe I have calls for cooking the lentils with a cinnamon stick, which adds a nice flavor too. It’s from a great book called The Seductions of Rice, which I’m sure you would like.

Comments are closed.