brian’s boiled dinner

Until today, I’ve posted my recipes and general food posts under the “daily dilly-dally” or the “momness” category. Now there’s an “eating” category so that if you’re looking for a recipe I posted, you’ll be able to find it there.

Last night we had nasty weather, and after I came home from working the book fair, I opened the door of my house to the wonderful smell of Brian’s boiled dinner. I should interrupt myself here to mention Brian’s culinary acumen *far* exceeds mine. He’s intuitive about spices and unabashed with his use of olive oil and fresh garlic. Brian’s boiled dinner is distinctly from the beach, like he is, which is nice when it’s 2F out and the snow is relentless.

A quick caveat: I am reproducing this recipe from careful observation and interviews with the chef; I have never made it personally. And this batch will only feed two adults–assuming you have a potato or some kind of starch on the side. Our kids think it’s gross (poor them), and it doesn’t save well as a leftover, so we only make as much as we can eat when it’s HOT.

Assemble*:
Two handsful of fresh green beans
Two handsful of baby carrots
3 or 4 ears of corn, broken in half
1/2 pound of peeled shrimp
1/2 pound of scallops
1/4 C Old Bay Seasoning
A stick of butter

*Your assemblage can be fresh or frozen; you’ll have to adjust the boiling time accordingly.

Fill a large stock pot with water and dump in the Old Bay. Put in the stuff that takes the longest to cook first (corn, carrots). Work backwards from there, throwing the greenbeans in soon after, and waiting until the vegetables are nearly done (or done all the way) before dumping in the seafood, which only takes a few minutes to be done.

Melt the butter. Use a large slotted spoon to dip into the pot and fish out your choice of vegies and seafood (don’t be greedy and take all the scallops like I do); plate it up. Drizzle with melted butter. You can also be disgusting and take your own personal bowl of butter and dip in each bite as you’re eating, like I do. Try not to overeat or drip butter on your good jeans.

A note about scallops: you can use the small bay scallops and this will still be a tremendous dinner. However, if you can get some nice big sea scallops this can be even more of a treat. The problem is that they tend to be expensive. If you live in CNY, though, Wegman’s sometimes has the large babies frozen for a a reasonable 7.99 a pound. Brian likes to quarter the sea scallops so they cook a bit more evenly–although I think he quarters them so it’s harder for me to steal them all.

2 thoughts on “brian’s boiled dinner

  1. Those of us who’ve had the pleasure of dining chez vous can attest to B’s cooking prowess. May I ask if his lovely enchilada recipe will be forthcoming in a future installment? 🙂

  2. Sounds great. The butter is a nice touch.

    I’ve had something similar to this, but with no butter, carrots, or beans, and with kielbasa (or andouille) and new potatoes. (The richness of the sausage makes up for the lack of butter.)

    How’d you serve it? When I’ve had it, it was drained and dumped en masse onto a newspaper-lined table. Fun for parties, but probably not so much as dinner-for-two.

Comments are closed.