post full of gratuitous Zs

Point well-taken, Fran. She posted in a comment earlier this week that I’m writing here more about running than anything, and that in doing so I am making myself a liar (see masthead that claims I post mostly about eating).

Here’s what I’m making today: cherry chip chocolate cookies. I found the recipe in a haggard, ragged issue of Shape magazine at H’s dance studio last night, and in hasty shorthand I copied it onto a subscription postcard. Since the picture is backwards and illegible (save for the necessary note to self : YUM), I’ll reproduce it here.

Oven: 350

5 Tb butter (soft)
1/2 C brown sugar
1/2 C light corn syrup
1 whole egg + 1 white
dash of vanilla extract
1 C flour
1/2 C unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 C dried cherries (I chopped them in the food processor)
1/2 C chopped pistacios

Mix it all up (if you’re retentive, you can combine wet and dry separately first, but I’m entirely too impatient for that step–it all goes into the kichen aid).

Bake on parchment for 10 minutes. They are good. I bet our beloved Mary (and you all CCR peops know to whom I refer!) would dig them.

A few quick disclaimers here:

I am not elise. I’m an ardent fan and reader of hers, but I’m not her. My photographing skillz blow AND my camera is on the complete fritz (above photo courtesy of Photobooth). So I’m sorry I don’t have a pretty pic of the cookies. But they just look like chocolate cookie blobs, anyway, and it’s a COOKIE, dang it, so they don’t last long enough to look at.

I have never cooked with corn syrup or “Dutch-processed cocoa powder” before. Corn syrup is scary stuff. It looks like it’s going to pour easy (because it’s clear, and I was thinking it would be syrup as in maple syrup, which is pretty thin), but it’s decidedly thick and goopy. But it’s sugar, that’s for sure. I think the recipe needs the corn syrup to make the fudge-texture. But anyway, don’t flame me because I’m using corn syrup. They’re COOKIES. They’re not supposed to be GOOD for you. Wah.

As for the cocoa, I couldn’t find anything that said “Dutch-processed,” probably because I was at Wal*Suck and they pretty much never have what I’m looking for. They never have saffron, either. But I digress. I simply got Hersey unsweetened cocoa powder and it worked fine.

Finally, the recipe calls for nutz but I left ’em out this time. But I think ANY nut would go good in this cookie. Next time, I’ll find some walnuts or something to throw in there. Pistacios are made to be eaten solo, in my opinion.

4 thoughts on “post full of gratuitous Zs

Comments are closed.