what’s on my plate

I’ve posted before how I eat obsessively. I eat particular foods over, and over, and over until I’m sick of them and never want to eat them again.

This is a tactic I learned from a book I read when I was in high school. I don’t recall the title and the author, but it dealt with managing eating habits, specifically for those of us who cannot. This book was really really great in that it taught me a lot of stuff I can’t remember…I loved it so much at the time that I promptly lent it to someone and never saw it again.

At any rate, the one thing I do remember is that the writer argued the best way to squelch an obsession (with a particular food item) was to simply feed it. That, once you’ve eaten a gallon of raw chocolate chip cookie dough (and this was her specific example), you probably won’t want to look at another spoonful of it for a long, long, while.

This tactic has worked well for me. The obsession I’m feeding right now is with Apple Oven Pancakes.

Melt 2 Tbs butter in a pie plate

Sprinkle a thin coat of brown sugar evenly onto the butter

Arrange one peeled, thinly-sliced apple onto the sugar

Pour over the top of the apples a quick pancake batter (2 eggs, 1/2 C flour, 1/2 C milk, 1/4 tsp salt)

Bake @ 400 for 30 mins

Loosen sides and flip onto big plate immediately

The end product is somewhere between an elephant ear and an eggy pancake with apples and the perfect amount of sweet.

I would post pics, except I’ve already eaten half of it, and it ain’t pretty no mo’.

4 thoughts on “what’s on my plate

  1. Mmmmm…Apple oven pancakes. Thanks for the tasty recipe. I will forward it to the Last Chance Run personnel, so that our post-race gluttony can be made even more substantial and delicious.

Comments are closed.