leave it to your loved ones…

…to make short order of any resolutions you try to make.

Since I posted yesterday, people (on and off this blog) have tried to:

encourage me to RUN. Good gravy, can’t a person quit a bad habit? What if I were trying to quit smoking? Or biting my nails? No one would say, “Oh, I don’t think that’s a good idea. You should certainly KEEP that stress-relieving distraction in your life.”

encourage me to CUT MY HAIR. This from my mom and sister–my mom who just cut her hair today and my sister who is gearing up to do so. And I know something for a fact: when one cuts her hair, the first feeling she has AFTER the enormous regret is huge envy of those who have managed to resist the urge to cut theirs. Well. I know for a fact that if I do cut my hair now, I will NEVER finish my dissertation.

encourage me to blog. After I performed a quick recount of last night’s trip to the mall to buy “hockey gear” (three kids and two adults who have no idea what the hell a first-year hockey player needs–this was our motely crew), I was goaded by my audience: “Blog! Blog! Blog!”

So, I may keep running. And, obviously, I’m still blogging. But I AM NOT cutting my hair.

No one, oddly, has encouraged me to do my laundry. They might, though, if they manage to sit too close to me (my socks are a little ripe).

2 thoughts on “leave it to your loved ones…

  1. 1. Teach Hannah how to french braid. You’ll develop a whole new look.
    2. Laundry sucks. I hate schlepping to the laundromat. What possessed me to rent a place with no w/d???
    3. Do whatever you want. Ignore us. We know nothing.
    4. In support of #3, I give you these words, attributed to Mr. Buddha himself: “Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.”
    5. And yes, your reason is worth listening to, even if it feels a bit wacky at times. It’s done you proud so far.

Comments are closed.